My story

My name is Paul McPheeters.

I have been a full-time recruiter since July of 2020. Having worked and successfully made placements in multiple industries including Insurance, Construction, and Building Materials, I have firsthand knowledge of what it takes to successfully land your dream job, hire the right candidate, and improve your skills as a recruiter, from the initial interview all the way to the offer stage.

Early years

I was born in Topeka, Kansas, in 1990. Raised and reared in a God-fearing home with two brothers, as the middle child I spent the majority of my childhood playing in the woods, getting into trouble, swimming, reading, going to church, and attending school at home. My father was a stay-at-home dad teaching me and my brothers while my mother worked from home doing cosmetic sales.

As a teenager I developed a love of fencing and studied the art for years while also engaged in archery classes, horseback riding, and skiing in the winters in Colorado.

Graduation

Upon graduating high-school in 2008 I moved to Colorado to work in the world of residential & commercial concrete. In 2009 I attended Boot Camp at The International Air Land Emergency Resource Team (ALERT) Academy in Big Sandy, Texas, where I learned survival skills and medical first aid. The following year I returned to The ALERT Academy to complete the Intermediate Training course, studying Urban Firefighting, Wildland Firefighting, Confined Space and High-Angle Rescue Operations, and Police Diving.

Military Service

In April of 2010 I enlisted into the U.S. Army as an 11Bravo infantryman, though due to medical issues I wasn’t able to begin Basic Training until March of 2011. Upon completion of Basic Training and Infantry School in June of 2011, I was assigned to the 3rd U.S. Infantry Regiment (The Old Guard) at Joint Base Meyer-Henderson Hall in Arlington, Virginia. While assigned to Charlie Company I performed over 100 funerals for fallen service members at Arlington National Cemetery. During my time with Charlie Company I successfully completed Air Assault School and received the Expert Infantryman’s Badge (EIB). 

I’m on the right

In 2012 I volunteered for and was selected to join the Continental Color Guard (CCG), also known as the Presidential Color Guard, in Honor Guard Company. During my time with CCG I performed multiple ceremonies for dignitaries such as President Barack Obama, Secretary Hillary Clinton, Secretary of Defense Leon Panetta, Chairmen of the Joint Chiefs of Staff Admiral Michael Mullen and General Martin Dempsey, and Prime Minister Shinzo Abe of Japan, as well as many others. 

Education

Upon completion of my military term of service in March, 2014, I returned to Kansas began attending classes at Johnson County Community College in Overland Park, Kansas, with an emphasis on English, German, and Mathematics Classes.

In 2016 I matriculated to The University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas, studying Computer Engineering for one semester before switching to a major in Chinese and Japanese while continuing my German studies.

In the summer of 2018 I was selected for the competitive Gilman Scholarship and successfully landed a spot at the prestigious Princeton in Beijing program hosted by Princeton University. While living in Beijing I spoke only Mandarin Chinese for two months to my colleagues, classmates, professors, and neighbors, only speaking English during phone calls home and generally making a fool of myself trying to speak with natives.

In the Summer of 2019 I was accepted to intern at The American Legion in Washington, D.C. via The Washington Center’s Veteran Program. While at the Legion I worked in the Department of National Security, attending lectures and roundtables at the most prestigious Think Tanks in D.C. such as The Heritage Foundation, Woodrow Wilson Center, Center for American Progress, and others where I would take notes on national security concerns and relay those back to my boss.

In Spring of 2020 I graduated from KU with a degree in Chinese and Japanese and a minor in German.

Personal and Professional Life

During my Junior Year of college I met my wife online while she was living in Virginia. We began dating long-distance and would make frequent trips to see each other. After securing the internship in D.C. we were able to spend more time together, during which time I proposed and she said yes!

Upon completing my internship my then fiance moved back to Kansas with me where we married as I finished my final year of college. We rented an apartment close to campus while I finished my degree.

Shortly after graduating college I found a career as a remote recruiter working for GPAC. The first six months were terrible. It was an entirely new industry to me, I’d had no experience in sales, and as a commission-based job, it was extremely difficult. But I pushed through. 

Beginning of 2021, after six arduous months of grinding, I finally landed my first placement, until, the candidate took a counter-offer and I was back to square one. But I kept pushing. Finally, in March of 2021, after eight long months, I finally had my first real placement, one I would actually get paid for: I had finally unlocked the art of recruiting.

From then on my life and my career completely changed: my wife and I packed our bags and our puppies (we’d adopted two Pomeranians by this point), put our belongings in storage, sold the car, and moved to Brazil where I continued to work remotely while enjoying the scenic views and traveling throughout the country for six months.

In December of 2021 we returned to the U.S. to travel, spending New Year’s in New York City, the following week flying to Los Angeles for vacation, then to Phoenix, then Grand Canyon, followed by Denver for some skiing, then back to Kansas to visit friends and family, after which we spent an extended time on the Gulf Coast to enjoy the beach and sun while I continued working.

In September for 2022 we finally decided to buy a house, settling on Colorado Springs as our new home where we now reside.

Where I am today

It’s been a crazy few years, filled with laughter, tears, hard times turned good, the occasional peril, and always God being faithful and leading us along. Through it all I’ve developed personally and professionally, emotionally, spiritually, learning more every day about myself and my craft. And now, I want to use the skills I’ve learned along the way to help you with your career goals, whether you are a candidate hunting for your dream job, a hiring manager looking to improve your hiring process, another recruiter aiming to increase your placements, or an interested professional curious about the remote lifestyle.

Regardless of where you come from and where you’re going, I want to thank you for taking the time to hear my story. I hope that by hearing mine, the story or YOUR life will be enriched and emboldened.

Thank you again, and I wish you well. 

Paul McPheeters